Home Front - Production Awards

Thanks to Ed Sims for putting this information together and for supplying the images.

Production awards of WWII

Just prior to and during WWII there were a number of awards for excellence in the production of war work.

The Navy E Award and the Army A Award were created about July 1941 and lasted until the creation of the Army-Navy E Award in July 1942 and continued until August 1945. There were 4,283 plants, approximately half a million workers, that received the Army-Navy E Award representing about 5% of the total number of plants that performed war work. The Naval Ordnance E Award was also created about 1941. This is actually the first type Navy E Award. The Maritime Commission had a Merit Award and these last two lasted throughout the war as separate awards. Here are some examples of the different types of award pins.

Navy E Award, two basic types; with the company name on the back and without.


Naval Ordnance E award three basic types; plain front, enameled front and painted front. This is the first type Navy E Award.


Army-Navy E Award, two basic sizes; 15/16" and 1 3/16" also found smaller than 15/16" the smaller ones are very scarce.

Unusual Army Navy E award pins


Maritime Commission Merit Award, two sizes

All electronic scans remain the copyright of Bob Schwartz or the specific contributors and cannot be reproduced by either digital, electronic, electrostatic or lithographic or by any other means without expressed permission from the originator of the web site or its contributors.

Aviation Wings and Badges of the World Wars